My most recent stag paintings…..

My most recent stag paintings.....

As Christmas starts to draw nearer I find myself reverting back to my favourite animal, the deer – well, the stag in particular …These pieces are about nature wearing the colours of man like war paint, trying to adapt to man’s intervention. The fluorescent paint also looks like energy radiating from the animal, as it is painted on the places I find most intense, usually around the eyes, radiating down the neck – wherever there is tension. I use a lot of stags in my work as they are so majestic and pure, like they are wearing ornate crowns on their heads. They are powerful and yets so peaceful. I love that juxtoposition and how they are symbolic of standing your own ground and overcoming life’s obstacles. I believe I am also drawn to stags as it’s the Scottish in me and I just love their anthropormorphic qualities, when they stare at you it’s like they are staring into your soul……
You can see more of my stag series here: http://www.degreeart.com/users/louise-mcnaught
Or if you would prefer to see them in the flesh they will be exhibited at the Degreeart stand at the Edinburgh Art Fair on the 15-17th November 2013: http://www.degreeart.com/events/edinburgh-art-fair I do hope you enjoyed them thanks for looking/reading! x

2 thoughts on “My most recent stag paintings…..

Leave a Reply

